Ready Or Not By Meg Cabot: Love It Or Loathe It?

Standard

I’m and always have been an extremely avid reader. So I still consume books intended for teenagers, even though they could be airy and not much thought-provoking since I’m not a teenager any longer. And that’s how I ended up reading Meg Cabot’s Ready or Not in one go, when all I wanted was just to dip in!

Ready or Not is the sequel book of All American Girl, which I read sometime back, in which if my memory serves me right, Samantha Madison, an artistic and an unpopular sophomore saves the president of the United States of America from an attempt to take his life in an idle moment, gets appointed as the teen ambassador to the U. N. and eventually falls in love with David, the first son, who takes art classes with her. Thus the predecessor was truly an entertainment, which could hold the reader in trance.

Nevertheless moving on to the Ready or Not novel itself, I must admit that the book is quite controversial. There’s no doubt the book is funny and comes with a happy ending, like always. (Spoiler warning starts from here!) Yet given the fact that the entire book revolves around how Samantha, a sixteen year old tries to decide whether or not to have sex with David and finally decides to have sex with him, could make its appropriateness debatable. In my view sexuality should be based on the maturity of the person. But  having said that I must also add that I don’t necessarily believe the required maturity could be witnessed in the character of Samantha, which I feel is clearly elucidated in the following,

In those books, whenever the girl and the guy start Doing It, that’s it. That’s all they do. So long going to the movies. So long going to dinner. All they ever do when they get together is… well, It.

Maybe that’s just books and not how it is in real life. But how am I supposed to know for sure? It’s just that I’m not sure I’m ready for that.

where she is even incapable of calling sex, ‘sex’. So based on my Asian perspective, my opinion is that Samantha’s decision she made in the spur of a moment without a good explanation, specially after chanting to herself how unprepared she is, just five minutes earlier, leads her towards loss of her personality, mostly because Samantha who grew up in this book is a fusion of intelligence and talent. And that’s why I wish Meg Cabot had switched Samantha’s perception when it comes to sex with Lucy’s, her seventeen year old sister who reveals at the end of the book that she is still a virgin in spite of having dated Jack for more than 3 years!

Hence I will conclude this saying that I do think Ready or Not is an okay (two stars!) piece to be read by teenagers, although to me, the repetitive “I mean”s also cancel out the ingenuity of the book as well as Meg Cabot’s often stylish prose. Have you read Ready or Not? If you have, what were your impressions?

7 responses »

  1. I haven’t read Ready or Not, but I’m glad that I’m not the only one who likes to read books for a younger audience. In my case it is because I am just looking for something mindless and simple/pleasurable to read. However, I never worked up the courage to start the Harry Potter/Twilight books. I tend to just reread my favorite classic books like some C.S. Lewis, From the Mixed up Files of Mrs. Basil E. Frankweiler (probably for elementary school), or Johnny Tremain etc.

  2. May I suggest the Vampire Academy series by Richelle Mead. It is action, adventure and some romantic lusting while dealing with an inderground society of vampires. But back to the topic at hand, I have not read this book but I am willing to be just the subject matter alone is going to get it on a banned book list. Which means now I have to read this book.

  3. Pingback: How To Be Popular By Meg Cabot: When Being Yourself Is What Matters Most « To Make Me Look Busy

  4. Hm- vampire academy- i tried but i cant stand books that are too long. I liked the frist All American Girl novel though and loved ‘How to Be Popular’ Meg Cabot Rox!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

